Mysteries of the Holy Rosary

There were originally three sets of mysteries: The Joyful Mysteries, The Sorrowful Mysteries, and The Glorious Mysteries.

On October 16, 2002, almost 600 years after the original Mysteries of the rosary were established, Pope John Paul II proposed adding a new set of mysteries called The Luminous Mysteries (the Mysteries of Light).


The 4 Mysteries of the Rosary

The JOYFUL Mysteries

  • The Annunciation (Humility)
  • The Visitation (Love of Neighbour)
  • The Birth of Jesus (Poverty)
  • The Presentation of Jesus (Obedience)
  • The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple (Joy in Finding Jesus)

The GLORIOUS Mysteries

  • The Resurrection (Faith)
  • The Ascension (Hope)
  • The Descent of the Holy Spirit (Love of God)
  • The Assumption (Grace of a Happy Death)
  • The Coronation (Trust in Mary's Intercession)

The SORROWFUL Mysteries

  • The Agony in the Garden (Sorrow for Sin)
  • The Scourging at the Pillar (Purity)
  • The Crowning with Thorns (Courage)
  • The Carrying of the Cross (Patience)
  • The Crucifixion ( Perseverance)

The LUMINOUS Mysteries (the Mysteries of Light)

  • The Baptism of Jesus (Openness to the Holy Spirit)
  • The Wedding at Cana (To Jesus through Mary)
  • Proclaiming the Kingdom of God (Repentance and Trust in God)
  • The Transfiguration (Desire for Holiness)
  • The Institution of the Eucharist (Adoration

Powrót do blogu